Downgrade a debian package

Recently, I updated my iceweasel to version 24.4.0esr-1~deb7u2 which breaks the GWT browser plug-in. I need to downgrade it to a version which works with the plug-in.

First, I’ll need to install a tool which allows me to list out all available versions of a package:

# aptitude install apt-show-versions

Next, find out what versions of iceweasel are available:

# apt-show-versions --package=iceweasel --allversions

Finally, install the older version:

# apt-get install iceweasel=17.0.10esr-1~deb7u1

Done.

Leave a Reply

