NATD Examination 2013

NATD Examination 2013

On the past Saturday, I took my second Latin Ballroom Dance test.  It was a lot tougher than the beginner test last year.  This year, I took the Bronze test and Silver test together.  The Bronze test consists of Cha Cha Cha and Jive.  The Silver test has Cha Cha Cha, Jive and Rumba.  I did not dance with my last year’s partner this time.  I did ask, but… well… it didn’t work out.  I had been expecting this, but it still hurt when it really happened.

The dances were rather short.  Many steps we had leant were not included in the dances.  I personally felt that, all steps we learnt should be included.  It was the time to see how good we had been doing for the past one year.  If we failed to get a good mark, that’s our own problem.  We really shouldn’t make the dances easier by excluding so many steps / movements.  Well, I didn’t find anyone in the class sharing the same thought though.

This year, I danced with 4 ladies and we danced a total of 12 dances.  Sally was my exam partner this year.  She was my junior but was realy good.  Most probably getting higher mark than me.  We danced a total of 5 dances, made some small mistakes, but was generally OK.  For the other three, I was their dummy partner (not enough guys in the dance school).  Although just a dummy, I never treated it lightly.  I still danced as good as I can.  I even worried that I might not have the energy left for my real exam partner, who was the last I danced with.  Luckily, there were long enough break in between dances with different partners.

The exam day was also the photo taking day.  Everyone dressed properly for the exam, especially the ladies.  However, I took only a few photos this year and only with my juniors.  It’s not that I didn’t want to take it with my classmates, but it just didn’t happen.

上星期六,我参加了第二次的拉丁舞考试。今年的考试难度比去年高了许多。去年只考一支舞(cha cha cha),今年有五支。Bronze medal test两支(cha cha cha 和 jive)、Silver medal test三支(cha cha cha, jive 和 rumba)。我去年的舞伴,今年不再和我搭档了。虽是预料中事,但还是…

考试的舞蹈都挺短的。许多学过的舞步都没有被编入。我个人觉得,所有学过的舞步都应该被排入考试的舞蹈中。考试就是要检视我们过去一年来,究竟学得怎么样。如果考得不理想,那是不够努力,自找的、怪不得人。以简单的舞步应考,感觉上有些自欺欺人。可是同学中,好像没人抱着和我同样的想法。

今年,我有四个舞伴、共跳了十二支舞。我的考试舞伴是嘉宜。她是我的学妹,但是非常厉害。得分应该还比我高呢!我们共跳了五支舞,有犯了些小错误,但总的来说应该还不错。另外三个女生,我是她们的陪跳(dummy)舞伴,因为学院的男生不足。虽然只是陪跳,我依旧是尽了全力。我还甚至担心,轮到和嘉宜跳时(四个女生中她是最后一个),会不会太累了而影响了我们的表现和分数。不过还好,每个舞伴考完后,都有足够的休息时间。

因为考试,大家都穿得较正式。许多女生都有特别打扮一下,所以当天的相机总是拍个不停。我也和学妹们拍了几张;和同学倒是一张都没拍。不是不想拍,可是一想到… 就不拍了。

Leave a Reply

