Compiz-Fusion and AWN on Lenny

awn

I’ve been using Compiz-Fusion from Shame repository since Etch.  After installing Lenny, I tried to use the Debian official Compiz package.  Too bad, it didn’t work.  So, I go back to Shame repository.  It just work out-of-box, not to mention, with all latest and greatest features.  Oops, almost out-of-box.  I need to enable composite extension for X myself.

At the end of “/etx/X11/xorg.conf”, add the following:
Section "Extensions"
Option "Composite" "Enable"
EndSection

repos: deb http://download.tuxfamily.org/shames/debian-lenny/desktopfx/unstable/ ./
repo key: wget http://download.tuxfamily.org/shames/A42A6CF5.gpg -O- | apt-key add -

Avant Window Navigator (AWN) is a Mac-OS-like docker.  Etch does not have the package and building from source requires newer libraries also not available in Etch.  Now I have lenny and I have AWN installed.  I’m using the official debian package and pretty happy with it.  Lenny has the latest version of AWN!  Unfortunately, not all applets work and not all available applets are there in the package.  The missing applet that I want the most is: notification-area applet (thanks to debian decision that the applet is not stable!!!).  Without this, checkgmail and scim cannot be shown.  Found a firefox add-on that can do some of the task I used to do with checkgmail (but still not a total replacement).  For scim, luckily I can use key-board shortcut (CTRL+SPACE and CTRL+SHIFT) to enable / change scim input methods.

scim

In Etch, I used to start the compiz-manager in gnome-session, but this time I simply don’t want to waste any time in starting metacity then replace with compiz.  I want Compiz to be the default window manager.  After hours of searching and testing, finally, I found a working solution:

Copy /usr/share/gnome/default.session to ~/.gnome2/session and edit it to your preference.  Mine has the following content:

[Default]
num_clients=3
0,id=default0
0,Priority=10
0,RestartCommand=compiz-manager --sm-client-id default0
1,id=default1
1,Priority=40
1,RestartCommand=avant-window-navigator --sm-client-id default1

One response to “Compiz-Fusion and AWN on Lenny

  1. gilir November 12, 2008 at 6:55 pm

    Hi,
    I am the maintainer of Awn on Debian, and I’m happy if you are happy with the package🙂
    Please note that a new revision just arrived in lenny repository and should fix various problems on the applets side (0.2.6-4).
    Feel free to contact me if there is still problems (my email is on the package description :))

Leave a Reply

