Debian Lenny Day 3

I’ve been eager to try out lenny.  2 days ago, I had a new installation of Etch.  After half a day of upgrading, I got my lenny working!  My machine, an Acer Aspire 5540, simply work in an out-of-box upgrade.  The only thing that needs manual intervention is the wireless networking.  I need to install the firmware (firmware-iwlwifi) myself.

Lenny is overall much better than Etch.  It boots faster, shutdowns faster, more beautiful icons, application runs faster (probably not much configuration yet).  More importantly, new version of the software is available (e.g. evince highlighted text issue solved).

A small problem with this installation is the stability of wireless network.  Sometimes, the connection is dropped repeatedly over a period of time, say 10 minutes.  Sometimes, it reconnects, but sometimes not.

Another much much smaller issue is the Iceweasel.  All new pages were opened in a new window.  I checked the configuration, the setting was set to “opened in a new tab”.  After changing the setting to “opened in a new window” then “opened in a new tab”, Iceweasel started to behave correctly.

Next, I’ll move all my office work from Etch to Lenny.  Then, I’ll never have to boot into Etch anymore. 🙂

Leave a Reply

